Tags

, ,

When I was growing up there was something about having chicken noodle soup when you got sick that made you instantly feel better. It’s like that yellow broth had some kind of magical powers.

I’ve been battling a pretty nasty cold for about three days now and so I’ve been craving a delicious and soothing yellow broth soup (vegan of course, my chicken-noodle days are long gone!) chock full of healing veggies.

Enter what I call the “No-Chicken Soup for the Soul.”

IMG_0253
About a year ago I discovered a vegetarian no-chicken broth at the grocery store and I was shocked. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good vegetable broth as much as the next person but there’s something about a yellow broth that really hits the spot when you aren’t feeling well. This broth by Imagine is out of this world and would fool any carnivore into thinking it’s chicken based!

IMG_0250
Ingredients:
– 2 medium carrots, chopped
– 2-3 stalks of celery, chopped
– 3 cups broccoli, chopped
– 1/2 cup rice, I used basmati
– 8 cups no-chicken broth
– 2 tsp dried thyme
– 1 tsp dried rosemary
– salt, to taste

IMG_0249

IMG_0247

IMG_0248
1. Add broth to a large soup pot and bring to a boil.
2. Add remaining ingredients and reduce heat to low, simmering covered for 30-40 minutes.

Enjoy!

IMG_0251

IMG_0252

